top of page


"We are still operating under the fallacy that one size fits all.

A national programme, while necessary, will exacerbate health inequities.

While things are being done for the general population, they don't have an equity lens, which is essential from the beginning."


- Professor Papaarangi Reid

TRWU white icon.png

Te Rōpū Whakakaupapa Urutā is made up of some of the nation’s leading Māori medical and health experts including Primary Care Specialists, Public Health experts, Public Health Physicians, Māori Nurses and iwi leaders.


Co - Leaders

Professor Papaarangi Reid

Professor Sue Crengle

Dr Rawiri Jansen

Teresa Wall 

Hospital Care 

Dr Jade Tamatea

Associate Professor

Matire Harwood

Dr Myra Ruka


Bev Lawton

Dr Alex Browne

Dr Anthony Jordan

Dr Amanda Gilbert

Dr Curtis Walker

Dr Diana McNeil


Dr Erik Anderson


Dr Frances Robbins


Dr Joanne Hikaka


Dr Kasey Tawhara


Dr Kim Yates


Dr Max Ronald


Dr Oliver Menzies

Dr Dawn Adair

Dr Will Harrison

Dr John Mutu-Grigg

Dr Rachelle Love

Dr Sandra Hotu

Dr Greg Moke

Dr Nina Scott

Primary Health Care

Professor Sue Crengle


Dr Dougal Thorburn 

Associate Professor Matire Harwood

Associate Professor Bridget Robson 

Leanne Te Karu

Tammy Dehar

Selah Hart

Dr Julia Carr

Dr Maia Melbourne-Wilcox

Terina Moke


Dr Marise Stuart


Marama Tauranga


Teepa Wawatai


Dr Joanne Hikaka

Rose Kahaki

Dr Stephen Palmer


Dr Rawiri Keenan 


Dr Tristram Ingham

Dr Jason Tuhoe

Gabrielle Para

Associate Professor Elana Curtis

Professor David Tipene-Leach


Data and Monitoring 

Associate Professor Donna Cormack

Associate Professor Ricci Harris 

Dr Melissa McLeod


Teresa Wall

Dr Rawiri Jansen 

Selah Hart

Dr Karen Wright

Tammy Dehar

Leanne Te Karu

Christine Kenney

Kaeden Watts

Nita Wi Repa

Denise Blake

Janelle Dymus

Nari Faiers

Maria Ngawati

We would like to thank the dedicated members of our rōpū, most of whom volunteer their time for this important kaupapa. 
We would also like to thank the efforts of the people and organisations listed below, who have graciously provided their time, resources, pūtea and operational support to Te Rōpū Whakakaupapa Urutā.
  • Te Puni Kōkiri

  • The Health Quality and Safety Commission New Zealand

  • Amber Moke

  • Te Rawhitiroa  Bosch

  • Te Amokura Productions 

Dr Waikaremoana Waitoki It's easy.

bottom of page